top of page

Top Podcasts for Doing Homework (or any other activity)

Our favorite podcasts so far to listen to while doing homework and catching a mental break.


If you are a student, you know April is a tough month. Usually, papers are due and summer feels like it's around the corner. It's so hard to find the motivation to keep going, especially when your mind doesn't have space for one more thing. Doing homework, or any other tedious task if you're not in school, can be stressful and sometimes boring. However, listening to podcasts can sometimes help us (at least Dulce & Ceci) feel more relaxed, focused, or even have a mental break.


While we are lovers of playlists, listening to music while working is not always the vibe. So, podcasts are a perfect alternative, especially since we don't have to look at a screen! From entertainment to true crime, below are our current favorite podcasts.



Dulce's Picks:


Sidenote by AsapSCIENCE

Sidenote is what I wish my science class could be. They are funny, educational, and manage to make every topic, even the most mundane, interesting.



I Weigh with Jameela Jamil by Earwolf

I Weigh is relaxing, full of positivity, and jam-packed with celebrities and experts discussing the human condition. Jamil makes her podcast feel like a safe space for learning and re-education about topics that are often overlooked.



Getting Curious with Jonathan Van Ness by Earwolf *also a Ceci pick.

JVN explaining complex topics- from DACA to Diva Cups- enough said.



 

Ceci's Picks


Even the Rich by Wondery

I've noticed that my favorite types of podcasts are the ones that tell a story, and Even the Rich sure has a lot of stories to tell. The podcast focuses on the backstories, and scandals, of the rich and famous, from JFK to Paris Hilton. The hosts make you feel like you know them and like you're part of the conversation. I especially listen to this one when I go on walks and need a mental break from the heavy social work world.



I promise I listen to more than just Wondery podcasts, but this one's a good one. I won't give it away, but think psychological true crime, without death and blood, but enough bizarre twists to keep you interested. This one got me through various online class powerpoints and work case notes. If you're anything like me, after you get done with the podcast, you'll end up researching all about the main characters.



Can you even go wrong with Oprah? On the days when I am especially tired, sad, and unmotivated, I listen to this for inspiration. The actual interviews air on the OWN network, but if you don't have cable like me, listening to it works. On this podcast, Oprah does a mix of celebrity interviews and reflections on bits from past show guests, usually centering around a topic. The title doesn't lie, some of these conversations straight-up hit the soul! I recommend this one for walks or lounging outside, though I love to also listen to it when driving alone on road trips.


 

Talking about podcasts, have you listened to our very own podcast, Wicked Huercas?


If you haven't, make sure to take a listen! Episodes are usually between 15-20 minutes long, and we promise we'll make you laugh at least once with our stories of growing up as first-generation Latinas in the South. You can listen to us anywhere you get your podcasts, even on YouTube and right here on this website!





We want to hear from you! What are your current, top podcast recommendations?

Comments


bottom of page