top of page

Dealing With Machismo in Social Work




It’s Social Work Month and all month long I will be talking about my experience in the social work field so far. Last Sunday I reflected on five reasons why I chose this field. Being Women's History Month, this week I wanted to reflect on something that I have never been taught in school but experience it often as a case manager...machismo.


What is machismo?


A strong sense of masculine pride: exaggerated masculinity: an exaggerated or exhilarating sense of power or strength.


When I began my job as a caseworker, I was worried about different things. Was I going to know the right words to say? Did I have the experience? Is my Spanish up to par? However, because I’m Mexican and work with the Latinx community, facing cultural clashes was not something I even thought about.


However, throughout my experience in internships and work, the concept of machismo has been something that there’s little guidance on about how to deal with.


I’m there to guide, connect, and help families with the resources they need. Often, l work with Latinx, first-generation, adult men.


So what are some things I or other women I know have experienced?


It can start with discrediting your ability to do the job you’ve been hired to do. I look young, and I’m a woman, and I’m in a position where I am there to help the client, but sometimes can be viewed as the “nagging mother”, or not trust the knowledge I have.


It can be inquiring about my dating life or being asked out on a date even when I’m professional and have set clear boundaries.


It can be flirting with me even though I’m professional and set clear boundaries because I am nice and helpful (because caring is my job) but yet seeing that as an invitation for something more.


Those are only a few examples, but it’s so important to reflect and talk about it. It’s helpful to talk amongst colleagues and supervisors about this matter, but it’s just as important to set boundaries, be professional, and instead of ignoring a comment, actually educate the client. Of course, if you ever feel threatened or unsafe, remove yourself from the situation and let others know.



Have you ever had to deal with machismo in your job? How do you handle it?


Comments


bottom of page