top of page

Social Work IG Accounts I Follow

Better late than never! It has been a crazy week with school and finishing papers, but I couldn't let Sunday go by without writing my Social Work Sunday post, which I will be posting all of March since it is Social Work Month.


Realizing that I will be graduating with my MSW this year makes me have a mini-life crisis. I have been in case management for around three and a half years, but I know that eventually, I will be moving up to something else. The question is, where will I go? Where do I fit in? Social work is VAST and precisely the reason why I chose this field. However, as someone who can be indecisive, tends to go against the grain, and realized that maybe clinical social work is not the way I want to go (I could talk about this for days), I need guidance more than ever.


Surprisingly, social media has provided me with support and guidance on the social work field that I don't necessarily get in my graduate program. So, below are 5 social work accounts mostly ran by BIPOC that are helping me on my social work journey.



The Rich Social Worker

I found the Rich Social Worker as I was looking through social work videos on YouTube. Her videos are inspiring, and she gives a take on social work that I find refreshing, including stepping out of the clinical social work bubble. She also interviews other social workers that work in "non-traditional" social work positions, such as entrepernourship.



Social Workers Rise

Catherine Moore is behind Social Workers Rise. I found her through her podcast, Social Worker's Rise, where she talks to social workers in different areas in the field about their journey and experiences. One of her main focuses is preventing burn-out and even provides courses that are helpful for medical social workers. You can listen to her podcast, find her on Instagram, and https://www.socialworkersrise.com/ .



Melanated Social Work

"Melanated Social Work works to decolonize mental health practices by shifting the dialogue around health and healing in communities of color." Melanated Social Work is led by four black and brown therapists and have a podcast by the same name, where they discuss topics such as the intersectionality of race, politics, and mental health. You can listen to their podcast, follow them on Instagram, and visit their site https://www.melanatedsocialwork.com/ .


La Spanglish Social Worker

I found La Spanglish Social Worker through searching through resources on Instagram. The account is ran by Haidee Cano where she posts about topics like self-care and racism, in English and Spanish. She also facilitates a BIPOC support group for MSW students. You can find her on Instagram @la.spanglish.socialworker .



Las Social Workers

I recently found Las Social Workers account while looking for more Latinx social work content. They post all types of social work content, from motivational posts to self-care, always mixing in social work with la cultura. You can find them on Instagram as @las.social.workers.




Even if you're not a social worker, these accounts are still helpful because they may teach you something you may not know. Are there any accounts in your field that you follow that have helped you in your professional journey? Share them!



Kommentare


bottom of page